International

Global networks and diversity

Strictly international: Intercultural cooperation is our strategy for success.

decor

WHY INTERNATIONAL?

Global networks, diverse and inspiring: The startup ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM offers the ideal environment for your venture into the German market.  

Mannheim is an agile german economic center in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region – in the heart of Europe. NEXT MANNHEIM offers a diverse network with its flourishing startup scene and a top-class academic infrastructure. The mission is to continually internationalise and diversify this dynamic startup scene. We connect Mannheim-based founders with an international network, support intercultural enterprises and invite international startups to our on-boarding programme. Anyone looking for the perfect entry into the German market is welcome to come to Mannheim.

ONBOARDING PROGRAM – YOUR TOUCHPOINT TO MANNHEIM

You are thinking of setting up an entity in Germany in order to explore the European market while running your startup? Get to know Mannheim as your perfect location for your market entry! We create optimal conditions for funding, financing operations, counseling, incubators, accelerators, co-working spaces and networking. An important location factor is a network of global industry players with close links to mid-tier businesses and universities. BASF, SAP, MVV, Roche, John Deere, Daimler-Benz, Bombardier, Bilfinger or ADM/Wild constitute only a small cross-section of the internationally operating groups in Mannheim and the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region.

Get to know our ONBOARDING PROGRAM together with our MARKET ENTRY MANAGERS – they’ll support you individually and create the perfect problem solution fit.

 

What’s in it for you?

Apply for our programs and become part of the NEXT MANNHEIM INTERNATIONAL STARTUP COMMUNITY:

 

Step 1:
Digital Incubator Program

A 4-week program on a virtual base that gives you all the knowledge and contacts you need for establishing your company in Mannheim in a time- and cost-efficient way. During the program you get:

  • Information about the regional ecosystem and valuable contacts to key industry players
  • Expert knowledge and hands-on guidelines about legal, money, sales and culture in Germany
  • Individual support by your personal market entry manager
  • Promising contacts to potential clients and partners

The program includes in addition to the four lectures once a week a weekly one-to-one-session of 1,5 hour with our experts, meetings with your market entry managers and potential clients.
Attendance is mandatory for eligibility for the subsequent onboarding program.

 

Step 2:
Onboarding Program

Define your goals together with us and make your decision for Mannheim. We invite you to come to the Rhine-Neckar region and meet your local partners. We offer:

  • Three months of free co-working in one of our eight startup centers
  • Three months free accommodation in our startup flatshare
  • Access to our network with companies and medium-sized businesses in the region. We connect you individually with your ideal customers.
  • Events with the Start-up Community
  • Individual consulting from experts on: business model, financing, law, start-up advice, etc. 
  • Optional: participation in our Accelerator Programs

Step 3:
“International Stammtisch”

Become part of our STARTUP COMMUNITY!

Our International Stammtisch gives you the opportunity to network with like-minded people and get to know Mannheim better. In virtual meetings once a month we meet for exchange and are open for your questions.

 

WELCOME TO MANNHEIM!

INTERCULTURAL BUSINESS

Offers for business startups and entrepreneurs with intercultural background:

In Mannheim, cosmopolitanism, diversity and tolerance are very much alive. People from over 170 nations live in the city, over 43 percent have a migration background. Intercultural mentality and diversity are natural elements of Mannheim's economy - and NEXT MANNHEIM stands for integration through participation.

The INTERCULTURAL BUSINESS department offers a special point of contact for female founders and entrepreneurs with a migration background. We provide support with advice and training and are the first choice for sustainable intercultural business startups.  We evaluate business ideas with regard to marketability and sustainability, we contribute our knowledge and network to promising projects and support the realization of ideas. 

Consulting services

The consulting services cover a broad spectrum: from legal basics and funding opportunities to important aspects of intercultural communication and industry-specific regulations in the different phases of setting up a company. More information on subsidies and financing such as the EXI voucher can be found here.

 

Focus Community Turkey

Due to the large number of people of Turkish origin in Mannheim and the associated economic potential, the focus is on the Turkish community. Our activities pursue the goal of supporting and advising Turkish founders and entrepreneurs in the development of self-employment and in the management of their companies. We support startup initiatives, which improve the economic situation of our Turkish fellow citizens and create jobs.  

INTERNATIONAL NETWORKS

Our mission

Mannheim benefits from a very powerful and strong startup scene with more than 300 high potential startups in various industries. They have the potential to become successful internationally operating startups. The goal is to support our local startups in internationalizing and diversifying their activities. NEXT MANNHEIM is embedded in a tightly knit international network of partners, institutions, startup and technology centers, and universities from around the world.

 

Mannheim and the Startup Hotspot Tel Aviv

Israel has one of the most innovative and vibrant startup scenes in the world. NEXT MANNHEIM has developed close partnerships in Tel Aviv in particular. In 2017, Mannheim and Tel Aviv established a cooperation as part of the B-WIP accelerator program, which was solidified with a representative office in 2018.

Many innovative startups from Tel Aviv are interested in collaborations with German companies. The goal of the cooperation is to create connections to Mannheim's industry and SMEs in order to promote technology and knowledge transfer. Through the representative office in Tel Aviv, Mannheim is perceived as an innovation location in the Israeli startup scene.

Toulon, France

With TVT Innovation, the central agency for economic development for the Métropole Toulon Provence Méditerranée, we have a strong partner in Toulon and on the Côte d'Azur.

System Factory, as part of TVT Innovation, bundles startup activities across sectors as an industrial cluster focusing on areas such as energy, environment, health or marine.

Against the backdrop of a long-standing city partnership between Toulon and Mannheim, we sealed our joint activities in a partnership agreement within the framework of an international Mayors Summit in 2020, so that since then, among other things, onboarding programs, support in market development and free use of co-working spaces can be offered in the respective partner cities.

We have also succeeded in building bridges between the cities of Toulon and Mannheim from the perspective of urban culture and the creative economy with joint activities, including the MUREX Festival.

Skolkovo Technology Park & Russian Venture Company, Moscow

"Young, Russian IT companies are among the most innovative in the world," knows Dr. Claudia Rabe, who is responsible for the STARTUP COMMUNITY at NEXT MANNHEIM, among other things. She established the connection to the Russian Venture Company (RVC), a kind of state "umbrella fund" that distributes funds to other VC funds. RVC, in turn, is located in the world-renowned TECHNO Park Skolkovo, with whose International Department we maintain contacts. Russian startups already visited Mannheim in 2018 - the finalists of "GenerationS", an accelerator program that is advertised throughout Russia - the prelude to a sustainable strategic cooperation with both partners.

Hungary

Mainly based on MedTech startups, our partner Berlin Startup campus offers help for German startups entering the Hungarian market. They also support internationalization towards the eastern Europe. Their support is highly individualized and tailor-made for the startups from Mannheim.

The Hebron-Mannheim Co-Working Lab  

The lab aims to create a collaborative workspace for business startups and to establish an international startup scene in Hebron. The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) through the development policy program "Sustainable Community Development through Partnership Projects" (NAKOPA) of the Service Agency Communities in One World (SKEW). In addition to creating jobs, the programme aims, among other things, to impart skills and initiate a transfer of knowledge between Mannheim and Hebron. 

 
 
 

Beyoglu, Turkey

We already have a long-standing friendship and city partnership with Beyoglu, a district in the European part of Istanbul. There is a lively creative industry scene as well as renowned universities, which in this symbiosis have produced a dynamic startup scene.

 

CONTACT

Burak Bas

Coordinator International Projects & Intercultural Business

Anna Hüttl

Coordinator Accelerator Programs & International Projects
All Contacts

International

Weltweite Netzwerke und Diversität

Konsequent international: Interkulturelle Zusammenarbeit ist unsere Strategie zum Erfolg.

decor

WARUM INTERNATIONAL?

Weltweit vernetzt, vielfältig und inspirierend: Das Startup-Ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM bietet das ideale Umfeld für Deinen Start in den deutschen Markt.  

Mannheim ist ein agiles deutsches Wirtschaftszentrum in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar – mitten im Herzen Europas. NEXT MANNHEIM bietet mit seiner florierenden Startup-Szene und einer hochkarätigen akademischen Infrastruktur ein vielfältiges Netzwerk. Die Mission ist es, diese dynamische Startup-Szene immer weiter zu internationalisieren und zu diversifizieren. Wir verbinden Mannheimer Gründer*innen mit einem internationalen Netzwerk, unterstützen interkulturelle Unternehmen und laden internationale Startups zu unserem Onboarding-Programm ein. Wer den perfekten Einstieg in den deutschen Markt sucht, kommt nach Mannheim.

ONBOARDING PROGRAMM

Du denkst darüber nach, Dich mit Deinem Startup in Deutschland niederzulassen, um den europäischen Markt zu erkunden? Lerne Mannheim als den idealen Standort für Deinen Markteintritt kennen! Hier findest Du Fördermittel, Beratung, Startup-Zentren, Acceleratoren, Co-Working Spaces und ein großes Netzwerk an relevanten Partner*innen. Ein wichtiger Standortfaktor ist ein Netzwerk von Global Playern der Industrie mit engen Verbindungen zu mittelständischen Unternehmen und Hochschulen. BASF, SAP, MVV, Roche, John Deere, Daimler-Benz, Bombardier, Bilfinger oder ADM/Wild bilden nur einen kleinen Querschnitt der international tätigen Konzerne in Mannheim und der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar.

Lerne unser ONBOARDING-PROGRAMM zusammen mit unseren MARKET ENTRY MANAGER*INNEN kennen - sie unterstützen Dich individuell und schaffen Deinen perfekten „Problem-Solution-Fit“.

 

What’s in it for you?

Bewirb Dich für eines unserer Programme und werde Teil der NEXT MANNHEIM INTERNATIONAL STARTUP COMMUNITY:

Schritt 1:
Digital Incubator Programm

Ein 4-wöchiges virtuelles Programm, das Dir zeit- und kosteneffizient alle Kenntnisse und Kontakte vermittelt, die Du für die Gründung Deines Unternehmens in Mannheim benötigst. Während des Programms erhälst Du:

  • Informationen über das regionale Ökosystem und wertvolle Kontakte zu wichtigen Branchenakteuren
  • Expertenwissen und praktische Anleitungen zu rechtlichen Aspekten, Finanzierung, Vertrieb und Kultur in Deutschland
  • Individuelle Betreuung durch Deinen persönlichen Market-Entry-Manager
  • Vielversprechende Kontakte zu potenziellen Kund*innen und Partner*innen

Das Programm beinhaltet zusätzlich zu den vier virtuellen Vorträgen einmal wöchentlich eine 1,5-stündige One-to-One-Session mit unseren Expert*innen, Treffen mit Deinen Market-Entry-Manager*innen und potentiellen Kund*innen.

Die Teilnahme ist verpflichtend für die Inanspruchnahme zum anschließenden Onboarding-Programm.

Schritt 2:
Onboarding Programm

Definiere gemeinsam mit uns Deine Ziele und triff Deine Entscheidung für Mannheim. Wir laden Dich ein, in die Rhein-Neckar-Region zu kommen und Deine Geschäftspartner*in vor Ort kennen zu lernen.

Wir bieten:

  • Drei Monate kostenloses Co-Working in einem unserer acht Startup-Zentren.
  • Drei Monate kostenfreie Unterkunft in unserer Startup-Wohnung.
  • Zugang zu unserem Netzwerk mit Unternehmen und mittelständischen Betrieben in der Region.
  • Veranstaltungen mit der Start-up-Community.
  • Individuelle Beratung durch Experten zu: Geschäftsmodell, Finanzierung, Recht, Gründungsberatung, etc.
  • Optional: Teilnahme an unseren Accelerator-Programmen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Schritt 3:
“International Stammtisch”

Werde Teil unserer STARTUP COMMUNITY!
Unser Internationaler Stammtisch bietet Dir die Möglichkeit, sich mit Gleichgesinnten zu vernetzen und Mannheim besser kennenzulernen. In virtuellen Treffen tauschen wir uns einmal im Monat aus und sind offen für Eure Fragen.

WILLKOMMEN IN MANNHEIM!

INTERCULTURAL BUSINESS

Angebote für Existenzgründer*innen und Unternehmer*innen mit interkulturellem Background

In Mannheim werden Weltoffenheit, Vielfalt und Toleranz gelebt. In der Stadt leben Menschen aus über 170 Nationen, über 43 Prozent haben einen Migrationshintergrund. Interkulturalität und Diversität sind selbstverständliche Elemente der regionalen Wirtschaft – und NEXT MANNHEIM  steht für Integration durch Partizipation.

Der Bereich INTERCULTURAL BUSINESS bietet für Gründer*innen und Unternehmer*innen mit Migrationshintergrund eine eigene Anlaufstelle. Wir unterstützen mit Beratung und Fortbildungsangeboten und sind die erste Adresse für nachhaltige interkulturelle Unternehmensgründungen. Geschäftsideen prüfen wir auf Marktfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit, in erfolgversprechende Vorhaben bringen wir unser Wissen und Netzwerk ein und unterstützen bei der Umsetzung von Ideen. 

Beratungsangebote

Die Beratungsleistungen umfassen ein breites Spektrum: von rechtlichen Grundlagen über Fördermöglichkeiten bis hin zu wichtigen Aspekten interkultureller Kommunikation und branchenspezifischen Regelungen in den unterschiedlichen Phasen der Unternehmensgründung.  Mehr Infos zu Förderung und Finanzierung wie dem EXI-Gutschein gibt es hier.

Fokuscommunity Türkei

Aufgrund des hohen Anteils türkischstämmiger Bevölkerung  und des damit verbundenen Wirtschaftspotenzials, liegt ein Fokus auf der türkischen Community. Unsere Aktivitäten verfolgen das Ziel, türkische Gründer*innen und Unternehmer*innen beim Aufbau der Selbständigkeit und der Unternehmensführung zu beraten und zu unterstützen. Wir geben Impulse für Gründungsinitiativen, die die wirtschaftliche Situation türkischer Mitbürger*innen nachhaltig verbessern und die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen auch für deutsche Arbeitnehmer*innen ermöglichen. Zusätzlich agieren wir als Anlaufstelle und sind im Dialog mit den türkischen Gewerbetreiben und der Community.

INTERNATIONALE NETZWERKE

Unsere Mission

 

Mannheim profitiert von einer sehr leistungsfähigen und starken Startup-Szene mit mehr als 300 High-Potential-Startups in verschiedenen Branchen. Sie haben das Potenzial, erfolgreiche international agierende Startups zu werden. Ziel ist es, unsere lokalen Startups bei der Internationalisierung und Diversifizierung ihrer Aktivitäten zu unterstützen. NEXT MANNHEIM ist eingebettet in ein eng geknüpftes internationales Netzwerk von Partnern, Institutionen, Startup- und Technologiezentren sowie Universitäten aus der ganzen Welt.

 

Mannheim und der Startup-Hotspot Tel Aviv

Israel hat eine der innovativsten und lebendigsten Startup-Szenen der Welt. NEXT MANNHEIM hat insbesondere in Tel Aviv enge Partnerschaften  ausgebaut. 2017 haben Mannheim und Tel Aviv im Rahmen des Accelerator-Programms B-WIP eine Kooperation begründet, die 2018 mit einem Verbindungsbüro verfestigt wurde.

Viele innovative Startups aus Tel Aviv sind an Kooperationen mit deutschen Unternehmen interessiert. Das Ziel der Kooperation ist es, Verbindungen zur  Mannheimer Industrie und zum Mittelstand zu schaffen, um den Technologie- und Wissenstransfer zu fördern. Durch die Repräsentanz in Tel Aviv wird Mannheim als Innovationsstandort in der israelischen Startup-Szene wahrgenommen. 

Toulon, Frankreich

Mit TVT Innovation, der zentralen Agentur für Wirtschaftsentwicklung für die Métropole Toulon Provence Méditerranée haben wir einen starken Partner in Toulon und an der Côte d'Azur. 

System Factory, als Teil von TVT Innovation, bündelt sektorenübergreifend als industrieller Cluster die Startup-Aktivitäten mit den Schwerpunkten wie z.B. Energie, Umwelt, Gesundheit oder Marine.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer langjährigen Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Toulon und Mannheim haben wir im Rahmen eines internationalen Mayors Summit im Jahr 2020 unsere gemeinsamen Aktivitäten in einem Partnership Agreement besiegelt, so dass seither u.a. Onboarding-Programme, Unterstützung bei der Markterschließung sowie freie Nutzung von CoWorking-Spaces in den jeweiligen Partnerstädten angeboten werden können.

Auch aus stadtkultureller und kreativwirtschaftlicher Perspektive ist uns mit gemeinsamen Aktivitäten, u.a. im Rahmen des MUREX-Festivals, der Brückenschlag zwischen den Städten Toulon und Mannheim gelungen.

 

Skolkovo Technologiepark & Russian Venture Company, Moskau

"Junge, russische IT-Unternehmen zählen zu den innovationsfreudigsten weltweit“, weiß Dr. Claudia Rabe, die bei NEXT MANNHEIM u.a. für den Bereich STARTUP COMMUNITY zuständig ist. Sie stellte die Verbindung zur Russian Venture Company (RVC) her, einer Art staatlichem „Dach-Fond“, der Mittel an weitere VC-Fonds verteilt. RVC wiederum ist im weltweit bekannten TECHNO-Park Skolkovo angesiedelt, zu dessen Internationalem Department wir Kontakte pflegen. Bereits 2018 besuchten russische Startups Mannheim – die Finalisten von „GenerationS“, einem russlandweit beworbenen Accelerator-Programm - der Auftakt für eine nachhaltige strategische Zusammenarbeit mit beiden Partnern.

 

Ungarn

Unser Partner Startup-Campus Berlin, dessen Fokus auf MedTech-Startups liegt, bietet Unterstützung für deutsche Startups, die eine Markterschließung nach Osteuropa planen – Schwerpunkt der Aktivitäten bildet der ungarische Markt. Umgekehrt unterstützt NEXT MANNHEIM die Ansiedlung ungarischer Startups in unserem Startup-Ökosystem.

 

Das Hebron-Mannheim Co-Working Lab  

Das Lab hat zum Ziel, einen kollaborativen Arbeitsort für Unternehmensgründer*innen zu schaffen und eine internationale Startup Szene in Hebron aufzubauen. Das Projekt wird über das entwicklungspolitische Programm „Nachhaltige Kommunalentwicklung durch Partnerschaftsprojekte“ (NAKOPA) der Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt (SKEW) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) gefördert. Neben der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen geht es unter anderem darum, Kompetenzen zu vermitteln und einen Wissenstransfer zwischen Mannheim und Hebron zu initiieren.  

 

Beyoglu, Türkei

Mit Beyoglu, einem Stadtteil im europäischen Teil Istanbuls, verbindet uns bereits eine langjährige Freundschaft und Städtepartnerschaft. Es existieren eine lebendige Kreativwirtschaftsszene sowie renommierte Universitäten, die in dieser Symbiose eine dynamische Startup-Szene hervorgebracht haben.

KONTAKT

Burak
Bas

Coordinator International Projects & Intercultural Business

Anna
Hüttl

Coordinator Accelerator Programs & International Projects
Alle Kontakte