Cultural Innovation

Culture and creativity are the engines of urban development!

Exciting projects, that connect culture, business, technology and science.

decor

Why CULTURAL Innovation?

In the startup ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM, culture and creativity shape the future of the city.

The CULTURAL INNOVATION OFFICE initiates, promotes and puts into practice sustainable urban cultural projects – in cooperation with cultural workers, artists, creative professionals, scientists and residents. These interdisciplinary projects are a driving force for innovation and are actively used for culture- and creativity-driven urban development.

CROSS-INNOVATION

At the points where culture, business, technology and science meet, the CULTURAL INNOVATION OFFICE develops innovative projects with a wide range of industrial partners. One example is the "Music & Medicine" project (photo at bottom-right). The project team including representatives of the University Hospital Mannheim, the Fraunhofer IPA and NEXT MANNHEIM, is working on improvements for patients and hospital staff through music and music technology in the fields of neurosurgery and oncology. Furthermore, the project "Creative Residency" (photo at bottom-left) integrates artistic thinking in entrepreneurial contexts.

PLACEMAKING

The CULTURAL INNOVATION OFFICE organises so-called placemaking projects, in which new uses of public space are developed together with citizens and various stakeholders. The focus is placed on artistic, creative and cultural interventions. An example of a sustainable placemaking project is the cultural conception and program for the Mannheim Multihalle

NIGHT GOVERNANCE

A special focus is on the development of nightlife culture. The initialisation of the first Night Mayor in Germany created a mediating interface between operators, residents, administration and authorities in order to strengthen Mannheim's nightlife structurally and sustainably – and to proactively give new impulses.

Cultural Innovation-Projects

MULTIHALLE

Mannheims miracle: Frei Otto's Mannheim multi-hall becomes the creative lab of the urban future.

More information

HALTESTELLE FORTSCHRITT

How do you turn a scary place into a place of wellbeing? An innovative festival transformed the tram-stop Rheinstrasse into a place of progress.

More information

MIX THE CITY

This is how Mannheim sounds: Ziggy Hasardeur remixed the UNESCO City of Music for the international music project MIX THE CITY.

More information

CONTACT

Dr. Matthias Rauch

CULTURAL INNOVATION Officer

Anna Blaich

Project Management CULTURAL INNOVATION

Robert Gaa

Nightmayor
All Contacts

News

All News

Cultural Innovation

Kultur und Kreativität? Treiber der Stadtentwicklung!

Urbane Innovation in Mannheim: Spannende Projekte an den Schnittstellen von Kultur, Wirtschaft, Technologie und Wissenschaft.

decor

Warum CULTURAL Innovation?

Im Startup-Ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM formen Kultur und Kreativität die Zukunft der Stadt.

Bei NEXT MANNHEIM initiiert, fördert und realisiert das CULTURAL INNOVATION Office nachhaltige stadtkulturelle Projekte – in Zusammenarbeit mit Kulturschaffenden, Künstler*innen, Kreativen, Wissenschaftler*innen und  Bürger*innen. Diese interdisziplinären Projekte sind Treiber für Innovationen und werden aktiv für die kultur- und kreativitätsgetriebene Stadtentwicklung eingesetzt.

CROSS-INNOVATION

An den Schnittstellen von Kultur, Wirtschaft, Technologie und Wissenschaft entwickelt das CULTURAL INNOVATION Office mit verschiedensten Branchen Innovationsprojekte. Ein Beispiel ist das Projekt „Musik & Medizin“ (Foto unten rechts). Das Projektteam mit Vertreter*innen des Universitätsklinikums Mannheim, des Fraunhofer IPA und NEXT MANNHEIM, arbeitet an Verbesserungen für Patient*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen des Klinikums durch Musik und Musiktechnologie in den Bereichen Neurochirurgie und Onkologie. Darüber hinaus integriert das Projekt „Creative Residency“ künstlerisches Denken in unternehmerische Kontexte.

PLACEMAKING

Das CULTURAL INNOVATION Office organisiert sogenannte Placemaking-Projekte, bei denen gemeinsam mit Bürger*innen und unterschiedlichen Stakeholder*innen neue Nutzungen des öffentlichen Raums entwickelt werden. Der Fokus liegt auf künstlerischen, kreativen und kulturellen Interventionen. Ein Beispiel für ein nachhaltiges Placemaking-Projekt ist die kulturelle Konzeptionierung und Programmierung der Mannheimer Multihalle

NIGHT GOVERNANCE

Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Förderung der Nachtkultur. Durch die Initialisierung des ersten Night Mayor in Deutschland wurde eine vermittelnde Schnittstelle zwischen Betreibenden, Bewohnerschaft, Verwaltung und Behörden geschaffen, um das Mannheimer Nachtleben strukturell und nachhaltig zu stärken und proaktiv neue Impulse zu geben.

Cultural Innovation-Projekte

MULTIHALLE

Das Wunder von Mannheim: Frei Ottos Mannheimer Multihalle wird zum Kreativlabor der urbanen Zukunft.

Zum Projekt

HALTESTELLE FORTSCHRITT

Wie verwandelt man einen Angstraum zum Wohlfühlort? Ein innovatives Festival machte die Haltestelle Rheinstraße zur Haltestelle Fortschritt.

Zum Projekt

MIX THE CITY

So klingt Mannheim: Ziggy Hasardeur hat die UNESCO City of Music für das internationale Musikprojekt MIX THE CITY geremixt.

Zum Projekt

KONTAKT

Dr. Matthias Rauch

CULTURAL INNOVATION Officer

Anna Blaich

Project Management CULTURAL INNOVATION

Robert Gaa

Nightmayor
Alle Kontakte

News

Alle News

Events

Alle Events